Skip to content

War Horse: Novel, Stage and Screen

August 19, 2010

Also see my review from April, 2011!

I have to preface this entry by copping to the fact that I don’t have a lot of book reviews on here so far. The reason being that most book reviews are done for those recently published, and I don’t read very many recently published books. I could tell you guys all about what I’m reading or have recently finished, despite my prediction that folks will be like, “Why are you reading this now? I came out two WHOLE years ago.” Doubtful, but possible, heh. So, we’ll see how that goes later.

Right now I want to talk about a sweet little book I finished called War Horse by Michael Morpurgo. Set during the build up and long years of World War I, War Horse is narrated from the horse’s perspective ala Black Beauty. Joey, a red bay from rural England, is taken from his simple farm and forced into the English army cavalry. Fighting to survive the hardships of trench warfare, Joey simply longs to return to his teenage master, Albert, back on the farm. It was a simple read, being a children’s book and all, but quite lovely. I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something a bit heart wrenching yet are a bit to scatterbrained at the moment to handle an adult novel (which is exactly what I was when I read it).

War Horse isn’t really a book that I’d pick up without some ulterior motive, and boy did I have one. This cute little book has been made into what looks like an incredible stage production currently up at the New London Theater. From the show’s website: The First World War is the backdrop for this tale of bravery, loyalty, and the extraordinary bond between a young recruit and his horse. Actors, working with astonishing life-sized puppets by the internationally renowned Handspring Puppet Company, take audiences on an unforgettable journey through history.” Holy crap you guys, how cool does this show look?

The puppets look so freaking incredible and omg the Irishy music!!! It’s kind of like when I saw the previews for The Lion King on Broadway for the first time and simply HAD to see it. Thankfully, War Horse will be coming to NYC next year. I will definitely be there, oh you know it.

Also, apparently master film maker Steven Spielberg is currently filming his own adaptation of War Horse for release next year. No doubt the film itself will include real horses, which I love too. But I’m more excited for the stage show, myself.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:35 pm

    Nice one! I cannot WAIT for the show to be here next spring! We are so there!

  2. Aeonica permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:44 pm

    Just came back from Study Abroad in London, and saw it while I was there. It’s *DEFINITELY* worth it. The show was 5 kinds of wonderful, heartwrenching, heartwarming, and all around good. You will definitely love every beautiful minute of it.

  3. November 16, 2010 3:17 pm

    i would say that Lion King is one of the best animated films that i have ever watched :;*

  4. June 13, 2011 4:13 pm

    Please also check out the other War Horse posts on the site! Just click on the War Horse tag on the right!

Trackbacks

  1. OMGWTF War Horse at Lincoln Center « Critic Behind the Curtain

Leave a Reply

