Skip to content

New Obsessions: Mumford and Sons and Florence and the Machine

August 20, 2010

I am newly obsessed with these two songs and videos (which are only slightly new in their own right).

First: “Little Lion Man” by Mumford and Sons. I’m not big on country, and thankfully these guys wonderfully walk the line of bluegrassy rock without going over into that land of cowboy boots and mullets (they’re Brits anyways). I love the old theater setting with the hanging lights and the whole Depression Era vibe. I love the dude rocking out on the banjo. I love the four part boy harmonies. I love the song. And heck all the dudes are pretty cute in their own way. Check it out:

Next: “Dog Days Are Over” by Florence and the Machine. Apparently a friend tried to get me into Flo a while back, but I remember none of her claim. But omg it’s like someone gave Lady Gaga some musical talent and you’ve got Florence and the Machine. This song just makes me super happy and I want to dance around my living room while listening to it. With a big floofy drink.

I’m more than a little late to the Flo+The Machine bandwagon, considering that she’s already “hip and cool” enough to me nominated for MTV VMA’s. ::Cringe:: I still love her though.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

