Skip to content

Emmy Awards 2010: Serious upsets, fashion faux pas and where the hell is George Clooney?!?

August 30, 2010

Greetings all! Well last night was the 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards and let me tell you, I am freaking PISSED, and I’ll get to why later on. First, let’s go through what I thought were the highlights and lowlights, then we‘ll go over my previous predictions and winners. Huzzah.

Red Carpet

The women of Mad Men have a serious problem. January Jones, what the hell are you wearing? It’s like a dress made out of Pepsi cans. And grrl Bed Head went out like 7 years ago. Also, you’re a horrible interviewee. Your public speaking skills are on par with your acting so…keep taking advantage of your blonde ambition.

And Christina Hendricks, I love you girl, I really do, but you look like a Fraggle.

Christina Hendricks:

Fraggle:

-Why does Keri Russell look like a sad Bridesmaid?

-LOVED Tina Fey’s dress

-I haven’t a clue who this is, but this dress is GORGEOUS.

Opening Number and Hosting duties

I must say, Jimmy Fallon did an amazing job. I was super excited when he was announced as host, and I think he deserves much kudos for saving a show that was otherwise pretty ho hum. I mean, the whole thing started out awesome and the funny continued for about the first hour. Then it just kind of went downhill.

The Opening Number was freaking hilarious. Jimmy Fallon, a few Glee kids, Tina Fey, John Hamm, Jorge Garcia, Joel McHale, Jane Lynch and Betty White, and even that train wreck Kate Gosselin came together to form an Emmy Glee Club that rocked the opening to Springsteen’s ‘Born to Run”. Check it out:

-I am freaking in love with Jon Hamm. Aside from playing super sexy Don Draper on Mad Men, the guy is insanely funny and such a good sport (as evidenced by his multiple appearances on SNL and 30 Rock).

-Chris Colfer’s super gay moment of staring in awe at a Golden Girl was fantastic.

-Random use of Nina Dobrev from The Vampire Diaries.

-Jorge Garcia rocks my soul.

-Oh Randy Jackson. You’re the only Idol judge who can make fun of yourself. Kudos. But a little pitchy dawg.

The Awards and other Show Moments

Why did the whole thing have this 1980s design vibe going on? I felt like any minute Jimmy Fallon was going to come out dressed as Max Headroom. Look at this set:

In a night with a good handful of gay jokes, was it me or was Matthew Perry and Lauren Grahams little moment really homophobic?? I can’t recall what they exactly said, but it was some lame joke that got ZERO laughs. So lame.

-Jane Lynch’s win was a total shoe in, but her acceptance speech was even better. She called herself an actor but the mention she doesn’t like to label herself and as such is occasionally very Buddhist adding that Buddhists, “seem like a very calm people.” She also thanked her, “Lord and Creator” Ryan Murphy. Lolz. Nice play on those peeps who always thanks Jesus.

-Did anyone catch that Top Chef producer almost take a SERIOUS tumble coming out of her seat? It was PRICELESS!

– The little countdown clock on the bottom right of the screen was chock full of LIES. At one point, it told us that George Clooney was coming in 17 minutes. About 30 minutes later, still no George Clooney, but then they said that the True Blood peeps would be out in 22 minutes, and Ricky Gervais in 4 ½ minutes. Somehow Ricky Gervais came BEFORE George Clooney but AFTER his 17 minutes were up, and the True Blood peeps took like an hour and a half. All in all NBC, don’t use the little clock next year, mmkay?

-Why was that whole thing with Bucky Gunts funny? I’m not really sure, but it was. Probably because it was Ricky Gervais that presented the award for Outstanding Director of a Special after giving out (fake) beers to the audience. After lamenting that they don’t serve alcohol like they do at the Globes, Gervais found Bucky Gunts name quite amusing, and predicted his win.

– I really, really want to see You Don’t Know Jack. It seems really interesting and I love me some Al Pacino. But wtf was up with his pompadour? Also, Jack Kevorkian has gotten old enough now to actually LOOK like the grim reaper so his gaping face at Pacino’s win was…all in good creepy fun?

-Did you dudes know that Old Spice’s “The Man Your Man Could Smell Like” won Outstanding Commercial and that Anne Hathaway won outstanding Voice over Work for her guest spot on The Simpsons? Fun Times at the Creative arts Awards.

-Shout outs to Ryan Murphy’s win for outstanding Director for a Comedy Series for Glee and Outstanding Writing for a Drama for Mad Men (as much as I love Lost, the Mad Men episode “Shut the door, have a seat” was so incredibly badass that I couldn’t argue.

– Speaking of Lost, I am so INSANELY pissed about its losses. 1) I had high hopes For Matthew “Foxy” Fox but knew it was kind of a long shot for him to win. Going up against that set was sure trouble. But Foxy was AMAZING this last season of Lost, especially in the finale. I am so PISSED he did not get his recognition. The fact that Bryan Cranston won AGAIN, for the THIRD time in a row really pisses me off. I don’t want to sound like a pre-school teacher here, but dude back off and give someone else a shot. I mean, the girl is a bit dramatic but Katherine Heigl had it right when she opted out the year after she won. Cherry Jones did the same thing this year. 2) Emmy loves a show’s freshman year way more than in its final year. At least Lost won the Outstanding Drama back in Season 1. STILL. AGAIN. Mad Men 3 years in a row?? I know it’s not possible to convince an entire production team to take a backseat, and I DO love Mad Men, but aside from the finale, Season 3 was pretty lackluster. 3) Lost’s only Emmy was for Single Camera Picture Editing, (blerg) which brings me to another point. HOW IN THE WORLD DID MICHAEL GIACCHINO NOT WIN FOR MUSIC?!? That is just…WRONG on so many levels. The music of Lost was so utterly amazing for six seasons, but no…it went to lamesauce 24. Did that show even have music? Or just harmonic gunfire and explosions? Effing PISSED. I’m sending out some serious Lost Golden Globe vibes. Won’t you join me people?

Now onto my predictions. You can find the complete list of winners here. Below is my entry from a couple months back. My predictions are underlined, my hopes and wishes in bold, and the actual winners are starred. I got 5 right out of 10.

Outstanding Drama Golden Globe vibes people. Let’s get on it.

Lost

Breaking Bad

Dexter

Mad Men*

True Blood

The Good Wife

Outstanding Comedy-WOAAH, talk about an upset. I have been told the show is hilarious but I’m pretty sure everyone was on board with Glee.

Glee

Modern Family*

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Nurse Jackie

30 Rock

The Office

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Outstanding Actress in a Drama- Yay! I am SUPER glad that I was wrong and Kyra Sedgwick won! Than-Kew!

Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife)

Mariska Hargitay (Special Victims Unit)

Glenn Close (Damages)

Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)*

January Jones (Mad Men)

Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights)

Outstanding Actor in a Drama-Boo. Boo for serious.

Jon Hamm (Mad Men)

Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights)

Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad)*

Hugh Laurie (House M.D.)

Michael C. Hall (Dexter)

Matthew Fox (Lost)

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy

Lea Michele (Glee)

Tina Fey (30 Rock)

Toni Collette (The United States of Tara)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (The New Adventures of Old Christine)

Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie)*

Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation)

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy-I can’t really get into that show so…whatever.

Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm)

Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)

Matthew Morrison (Glee)

Steve Carell (The Office)

Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory)*

Tony Shalhoub (Monk)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy

Chris Colfer (Glee)

Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother)

Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family)

Jon Cryer (Two and A Half Men)

Eric Stonestreet (Modern Family)*

Ty Burrell (Modern Family)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama

John Slattery (Mad Men)

Aaron Paul (Breaking Bad)*

Martin Short (Damages)

Terry O’ Quinn (Lost)

Michael Emerson (Lost)

Andre Braugher (Men of a Certain Age)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama

Sharon Gless (Burn Notice)

Christine Baranski (The Good Wife)

Christina Hendricks (Mad Men)

Rose Byrne (Damages)

Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife)*

Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Jane Lynch (Glee)*

Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live)

Jane Krakowski (30 Rock)

Julie Bowen (Modern Family)

Sofia Vergara (Modern Family)

Holland Taylor (Two and A Half Men)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    August 30, 2010 3:20 pm

    Opening number: Absolute amazingness. I was totally geeking (Gleeking?) out during that entire number. I love every single person in it (Jorge Garcia!!!) except the awful Kate Gosslin, but they were totes making fun of her in it so that made it ok.

    January Jones: She’s awful in every possible way. I’m waiting for the day they kill her off on Mad Men. That would instantly make the show a zillion times better. I mean, yes, it’s already awesome. But seriously, if they got rid of awful Betty Draper AND the kids had to go live with Don? Two birds with one stone, my friend. That would be amazing.

    Totes agree about Tina Fey’s dress. Gorg.

    Lauren Graham (one of my favorite people on the face of the planet) and Matthew Perry’s joke was something like: “All you ever play is a single mom of a teenage daughter. ” “Oh yeah? All you ever play is a gay guy!” And then… crickets. Terrible joke, and I kind of feel bad for them because you know they were told to say it. They didn’t write that shit. Awful joke aside, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the two of them together again. They’re BFF’s and I am pretty sure they have some sort of Drew Barrymore/Justin Long on-again-off-again romance thing going on. They did this movie together called Birds of America that was really great. And she guested on the brilliant-but-canceled Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.

    The chick who nearly face-planted on the carpet: Hilarious. But I also feel bad for her because she totally tripped over some dude’s crap that was all in the middle of the aisle. That guy is a douche.

    Little countdown clock: Pointless and inaccurate. However, it kind of amused me that they only put it on the screen when there was a particularly boring/uniteresting speech going on. Like, “We know this person accepting the award for writing of a miniseries is horribly boring, but don’t change that channel because GEORGE CLOONEY IS COMING IN 17 MINUTES!!” That made me laugh.

    Ricky Gervais is my hero. Now and forever. I am in love with the man.

    Poor Jack Kevorkian. He did look terrible. But the dude was in jail for a long-ass time. I guess that’s what spending your golden years in prison will do to ya.

    LOST: You said it. They were robbed and it was total and complete bullshit. GRRRRR Emmy’s. I laughed my ass off during Jimmy Fallon’s rendition of Green Day’s Time of Your Life. “…and in the end they died. I didn’t understand it but I tried…” LOL.

  2. MaManners permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:57 pm

    When viewing the initial day after wardrobe pics, I wanted Christina Hendricks to cuddle me in her ample bosom. After more in-depth viewing, that dress was a straight-up mess. The shoulders were sloppy and the bodice of the dress had some bizarre detailing at the hips that did nothing for her.

    I frothed at the mouth over Claire Danes’ dress, though I think she is sour-pussed slag.

  3. August 30, 2010 9:37 pm

    I didn’t watch, but that opening number was fantastic. I love Joel McHale. Also, I have never much cared for Don Draper as a character, but man that endeared me to Jon Hamm. What a cutie.

    Also? You know I love Glee, but truthfully… Modern Family is a better show. It is, hands down, the funniest show on TV. I think you would love it, Case.

    Thanks for this rundown! Saves me having to google search the winners. 🙂

    • August 31, 2010 6:10 pm

      I’ll def check it out on Netflix or something. For more fun times with Jon Hamm, you should seriously watch his 2 episodes of SNL, his second one in particular. Or his multiple guest appearances on 30 Rock. 🙂

  4. rachel "best dame" lefkowitz permalink
    August 31, 2010 6:59 pm

    misses.

    modern family is amazing. i watched the pilot and thought it was surprisingly good, but then kind of forgot about it until it until the middle of the season, when i found all the episodes online and fell in love. it’s genius, you will love it.

    i know i commented a little on facebook re: lost, but i’ll elaborate more. i was really expecting them to win – at least terry o’quinn or michael emerson – those two are ridiculous but i don’t have to tell you. since i love breaking bad, i was happy for aaron paul to win, but i was seriously shocked when it wasn’t one of those two. you know how much i love lost, but i’m actually not surprised it didn’t win for best drama.. i wanted it to, because it’s done and it is amazing, but i’m not surprised. i don’t watch mad men so i can’t speak for that, but of the other nominees, i watch 3 of them, and i almost hate to say it but they are [in my opinion] better than lost was, at least this season. i didn’t think matthew fox would win, but i thought maybe he’d get it since it is deserved and, again, the show is over. i’m thinking the golden globes are going to be much nicer to lost.

    like i said, i love breaking bad, and bryan cranston is awesome on that show, but it would have been cool to see someone else win – whether it was matthew fox or not. personally i would have loved to see michael c. hall win for dexter. that’s probably my favorite drama ever ever ever.

    • September 1, 2010 4:15 pm

      I was ok with Terry O’Quinn and Michael Emerson not winning because they both won last year and the year before. So they’re good. Foxy needs his due.

Leave a Reply

